I don’t Facebook, I blog

9 Nov

Good Morning Friends,

I am feeling numb this morning.  It is hard to believe that our country has chosen a man who has never had a day of public service, probably never paid income tax, and says he wants to undo what has been done to protect the most vulnerable in our society.  I firmly believe that as citizen we can’t complain about the ways things are, but work hard to make them the way we think they should be.

If you are reading this blog you probably have a roof over your head, food on the table and clothes in your closets.  I encourage you to look out for those who don’t.

And if you are reading this blog you probably have a relationship with God that goes beyond a casual nob.  I encourage you to strengthen that relationship and find how that holy, amazing presence of love and good news might use your life to bring grace and justice to the lives around you.

I think those of us who have been comfortable in our intellectual ways are about to become uncomfortable.  I think those of us who believe we should honor all of God’s creation might be shaking our heads in disbelief.   Last Sunday I read (and repeated several times) Love you enemies, do good to those who harm you, lend without expecting anything in return.  Who knows, maybe this will be an incredible soul stretching time for us.

Our next passage in Mark says,

40 A leper came to him, begging on his knees, “If you want to, you can cleanse me.”

41-45 Deeply moved, Jesus put out his hand, touched him, and said, “I want to. Be clean.” Then and there the leprosy was gone, his skin smooth and healthy. Jesus dismissed him with strict orders: “Say nothing to anyone. Take the offering for cleansing that Moses prescribed and present yourself to the priest. This will validate your healing to the people.” But as soon as the man was out of earshot, he told everyone he met what had happened, spreading the news all over town. So Jesus kept to out-of-the-way places, no longer able to move freely in and out of the city. But people found him, and came from all over.

So, the cat is out of the bag.  Time to go to work.  They knew that the anointed one of God was in their midst.  Do we still know this?  Are we willing to work to make the Divine Presence a reality for our lives and the lives around us?

I pray deep into the love of God to find strength for this day and hope for tomorrow.

Peace,

 

p.s. does this mean that we don’t have to pay income tax anymore?  You know, follow the leader.

 

2 Responses to “I don’t Facebook, I blog”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger November 9, 2016 at 2:33 pm #

    Thanks for your words on this day!

  2. Annie Kronk November 15, 2016 at 5:36 pm #

    Thanks, Pastor Mary, for your message, which seemed especially for me….and your p.s., which made me smile when I thought I couldn’t.

Leave a Reply

