Monday – Holy Week

21 Mar

Good Morning,

This past week my sinuses have brought me misery.  So much so that my teeth ache!  This is a new high, or maybe it is a low for my sinus saga.  Well, there is my whine.

I really wanted to blog through Lent, but now I am determined to a least honor holy week with a little writing.  There are texts assigned to each day of holy week in the New Common Lectionary.  I will pick one and go.

This morning my pick is from Isaiah.  Some people think the prophet was foreshadowing Jesus in some of his writing.  Biblical scholars believe that Isaiah was speaking of Jeremiah (655-570 BCE) [isn’t it wild to have a life span go backwards!].    Jeremiah’s book in the Hebrew Scripture makes interesting reading.

I think if we understanding the writing of Isaiah to be about another prophet of God and also describe Jesus, then maybe we can look at this passage as a “job description” for God leaders.

42:1 Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen, in whom my soul delights; I have put my spirit upon him; he will bring forth justice to the nations.

42:2 He will not cry or lift up his voice, or make it heard in the street;

42:3 a bruised reed he will not break, and a dimly burning wick he will not quench; he will faithfully bring forth justice.

42:4 He will not grow faint or be crushed until he has established justice in the earth; and the coastlands wait for his teaching.

42:5 Thus says God, the LORD, who created the heavens and stretched them out, who spread out the earth and what comes from it, who gives breath to the people upon it and spirit to those who walk in it:

42:6 I am the LORD, I have called you in righteousness, I have taken you by the hand and kept you; I have given you as a covenant to the people, a light to the nations,

42:7 to open the eyes that are blind, to bring out the prisoners from the dungeon, from the prison those who sit in darkness.

42:8 I am the LORD, that is my name; my glory I give to no other, nor my praise to idols.

42:9 See, the former things have come to pass, and new things I now declare; before they spring forth, I tell you of them.

And, if this is a job description of the servant (Jeremiah and Jesus) of the Divine Presence, then is it also a description of the church?  I think the church is floundering in what it is suppose to do.  I think it gets caught in the “flash” and forgets about the “substance”.

This is a week of substance;  To focus on the essential nature of God and the servants of God; to know that our life, our work, our death in found within the Divine grace of God.

Peace,

Mary

Leave a Reply

