The group who wrote the letter

7 Mar

Good morning,

I never thought I would make it to the end of Romans.  I looked back into my posts and realized I started 8 months ago, not too surprising. The actual surprise was to see that there are many posts that were not viewed by anyone – a 0 next to the little eye icon that says how many people looked at the post.  I always feel that is something I do for God; so I hope the Divine Presence is enjoying it more than me. (I really do not enjoy the process of writing.)

So, this morning as I read the last verses of Romans I realize Paul probably did not like to write either.  This letter was dictated to Tertius, who sends greetings in these verses.  Also, that this letter was written in community.  In addition to the man taking dictation, their is also Gaius, Paul’s host, and Timothy, Lucius, Jason, and Sosipater.  I imagine them all hearing Paul speaking the words and offering comments, corrections, and additions.  I like this idea of the writing coming out of conversation.  Michael Card does a live album of Christian music.  He talks about the music coming out of community.  I think that is where the strength of the message comes from; when we have a group of faithful followers around us offering comments, corrections and additions.

21 And here are some more greetings from our end. Timothy, my partner in this work, Lucius, and my cousins Jason and Sosipater all said to tell you hello.

22 I, Tertius, who wrote this letter at Paul’s dictation, send you my personal greetings.

23 Gaius, who is host here to both me and the whole church, wants to be remembered to you.

Erastus, the city treasurer, and our good friend Quartus send their greetings.

25-26 All of our praise rises to the One who is strong enough to make you strong, exactly as preached in Jesus Christ, precisely as revealed in the mystery kept secret for so long but now an open book through the prophetic Scriptures. All the nations of the world can now know the truth and be brought into obedient belief, carrying out the orders of God, who got all this started, down to the very last letter.

27 All our praise is focused through Jesus on this incomparably wise God! Yes!

Well, here’s hoping whoever manages to read this enjoyed thinking about how Paul wrote is incredible, transformative letter.

Peace,

Mary

One Response to “The group who wrote the letter”

  1. Nikii Frank March 7, 2016 at 7:21 pm #

    Dear Mary, I have so enjoyed all your reflections on Romans. Because you email me I don’t have to click on anything to read them, so I don’t think it will show in an eye icon if I looked at the post. Love, nikii

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

