Word to the Wise

5 Mar

Good Morning,

Paul’s final word of instruction are to “use your brain.”   I often wonder at religious groups who encourage people not to think about their faith; “just trust God, never question, God is in control.”  Actually, the last phrase is the one I like the least and is theologically untrue.  The creation story confirms that God does not control; only loves and invites relationship.

I was a United Methodist church in North Carolina.  I wanted to avoid the religious crazy people so I went to a UMC.  The pastor’s sermon was on the evil of theologian who tried to describe the greatness of God because we are to follow and trust without question.  I nearly left in the middle of his diatribe.

17-18 One final word of counsel, friends. Keep a sharp eye out for those who take bits and pieces of the teaching that you learned and then use them to make trouble. Give these people a wide berth. They have no intention of living for our Master Christ. They’re only in this for what they can get out of it, and aren’t above using pious sweet talk to dupe unsuspecting innocents.

19-20 And so while there has never been any question about your honesty in these matters—I couldn’t be more proud of you!—I want you also to be smart, making sure every “good” thing is the real thing. Don’t be gullible in regard to smooth-talking evil. Stay alert like this, and before you know it the God of peace will come down on Satan with both feet, stomping him into the dirt. Enjoy the best of Jesus!

Paul’s final words are of warning.  People understand and follow the Divine Presence is thousands of ways.  We should us our heart and our mind and our spirit to determine which ways are life giving and in harmony with God and which are seeking division and evil and hatred in God’s name.  John Wesley found the path through interpreting the Scripture in light of tradition, reason and our experience.  (I really love that he added experience to this historical way of doing theology.)

I want to let you know that the next blog will be my last on the book of Romans.  Where should I go next?  Should I keep on blogging?  I have done the psalms, sometimes I have done the lectionary scripture for the week.  I probably wont start a new project until after Easter.  Let me know if you have a preference.

Peace,

Mary

 

One Response to “Word to the Wise”

  1. Carol Gallagher March 6, 2016 at 2:15 pm #

    Blessings to you Mary. Please keep blogging. I have missed you and I love your insight. I just found this blog. I will pray you will be fed with your next journey topic; I know you will find it!!

Leave a Reply

