What’s at the bottom

26 Feb

Good Morning,

My mother is full bloodied Sicilian, which I always think of as even more emotional than Italians.  That volatility was passed on to me.  Yet, some years ago I start to reflect on what was really upsetting me in a situation.  This has been a true gift of God’s grace.

You see, if I became angry, or sad, or frustrated, I would stop and breathe and talk with the Divine Presence; “OK, what’s at the bottom of this emotion?”  Usually it was that things were not going the way I wanted.  And, of course, it was always worse when I was rushed for time.  Sometimes, if a sadness overwhelmed me I would ask the same question.  Again, it usually was something I couldn’t control, or worst, it was something that had happened years ago, or worst, it was something that might never happen – just a future I was imagining.   Truly, taking time to breathe and ask what the real issue was has been freeing for my life.  And I can put whatever is upsetting me back in to God’s hands of grace and let it go.

All of this is to say, that Paul is also asking us to “let it go”.   For Paul the issue of the day was food; kosher, non-kosher, food that had been used in sacrifice, meat, veg.  – so many choices.  In our day I think one of our issues is sexuality and who we partner with to live out our lives.  Since reproducing of our species survives is no longer a concern, it seems as through we could just let our homophobia go.  Just saying.

Yet, if that statement really gets you angry, I invite you to consider what is underneath of it.  I know many loving, gracefilled people who are finding love with same people who are the same gender as themselves.  Do you?  Do you think that the Divine’s love does not extend that far – well it extended all the way to you AND to the grave and back.  Do you think we should spend energy telling loving people who to love? I just get to confused when different than me is the issue.

I am called to love, pray for, forgive, work with, bless, BUT NOT to judge.  I like this arrangement.  It makes my life simper and lighter.

15-16 If you confuse others by making a big issue over what they eat or don’t eat, you’re no longer a companion with them in love, are you? These, remember, are persons for whom Christ died. Would you risk sending them to hell over an item in their diet? Don’t you dare let a piece of God-blessed food become an occasion of soul-poisoning!

17-18 God’s kingdom isn’t a matter of what you put in your stomach, for goodness’ sake. It’s what God does with your life as he sets it right, puts it together, and completes it with joy. Your task is to single-mindedly serve Christ. Do that and you’ll kill two birds with one stone: pleasing the God above you and proving your worth to the people around you.

So, enjoy this day that has been given to you.  Thank you for letting me blather on.

Peace,

Mary

Leave a Reply

