Timeless

12 Feb

Good morning,

I always wonder about people who say the Bible is out of date.  I think they must not be reading the same book I am reading.  Paul continues in chapter 11 to talk about how frustrated God is with God’s people.  Paul brings quotes from all the big guns of Israel [Moses, Isaiah, David], to tell how tired God is with our self-serving ways.

Remember, this is addressed to the chosen people of God; not Gentiles.  People who are suppose to make it their priority to be seeking the Divine in their lives.

7-10 And then what happened? Well, when Israel tried to be right with God on her own, pursuing her own self-interest, she didn’t succeed. The chosen ones of God were those who let God pursue his interest in them, and as a result received his stamp of legitimacy. The “self-interest Israel” became thick-skinned toward God. Moses and Isaiah both commented on this:

Fed up with their quarrelsome, self-centered ways,
    God blurred their eyes and dulled their ears,
Shut them in on themselves in a hall of mirrors,
    and they’re there to this day.

David was upset about the same thing:

I hope they get sick eating self-serving meals,
    break a leg walking their self-serving ways.
I hope they go blind staring in their mirrors,
    get ulcers from playing at god.

Think about how the people of our world “get ulcers” from playing at god.

The way of Lent is the way of surrender.  I know I can’t do anything about how the people of God’s churches so often chose way that focus on their own interest AND their own glory. However, I can continue to examine my own life, my own motives, my own willingness to surrender my will.  To be The chosen ones of God were those who let God pursue his interest in them.

I pray you find the joy of releasing all the craziness of our world.  Surrender is a beautiful thing.

Peace

Leave a Reply

