Power of the Christ life

9 Nov

Good Morning Friends,

This weekend I went to my High School Reunion and the church I grew up in.  Both were interesting experiences are interesting to reflect within the context of my current life.  I rejoice again that I surrendered by life to Jesus Christ when I was 16 and have been surrendering the parts I take back every day.

My home church now has a traditional service at 9:30 and a contemporary service at 11:15.  I was planning to go to both services, but life did not work out that way.  The first service the preacher did not use the lectionary; he ‘preached’ on Matthew 6:25-34, which was barely mention during the sermon.  Now this is the text saying not to worry and I love it, but the preacher said it is OK to worry, because we all do it anyway.  You would be very proud of me that I did not jump out of my sit and challenge him.  The service was structure that after the preacher said it is OK to worry, because it is just our human nature and we could make small changes about what we worry about and that was all we were capable of, we stand up to say The Apostle Creed which speaks of the incredible inbreaking of God – the power of God to transform the reality of our world – but apparently we are not suppose to take the seriously or personally.  When I found out that the contemporary service was the same scripture text and sermon title with just a praise band added, I left.

We CAN take the promises of God seriously and personally.  The end of the 8th chapter of Romans is used so often by Christian as words of assurance.  I hope we can also use them as words of power for our lives. First I put the text in the blog as New Revised Standard Version, but I realized I usually use The Message.  Once again the text popped out at me in a new way.

31-39 So, what do you think? With God on our side like this, how can we lose? If God didn’t hesitate to put everything on the line for us, embracing our condition and exposing himself to the worst by sending his own Son, is there anything else he wouldn’t gladly and freely do for us? And who would dare tangle with God by messing with one of God’s chosen? Who would dare even to point a finger? The One who died for us—who was raised to life for us!—is in the presence of God at this very moment sticking up for us. Do you think anyone is going to be able to drive a wedge between us and Christ’s love for us? There is no way! Not trouble, not hard times, not hatred, not hunger, not homelessness, not bullying threats, not backstabbing, not even the worst sins listed in Scripture:

They kill us in cold blood because they hate you.
We’re sitting ducks; they pick us off one by one.

None of this fazes us because Jesus loves us. I’m absolutely convinced that nothing—nothing living or dead, angelic or demonic, today or tomorrow, high or low, thinkable or unthinkable—absolutely nothing can get between us and God’s love because of the way that Jesus our Master has embraced us.

If this statement of Paul’s was true for his life and we can believe it is true for our life, then what do we have to worry about???  I believe in working hard, approaching life intelligently, thinking through the probabilities of a situation; but worry about it is useless AND I believe it denies the power of God for our life.

You have been redeemed, you have been resurrected with Christ, you are a child of God and precious to the Divine in the Eternal Now.  Enjoy the ride -no worries.

Peace

One Response to “Power of the Christ life”

  1. Nikii Frank November 9, 2015 at 9:16 pm #

    “Now this is the text saying not to worry and I love it, but the preacher said it is OK to worry, because we all do it anyway. You would be very proud of me that I did not jump out of my sit and challenge him.”

    Dear Mary,

    That is so funny – and sad too! I hate when people water down the word of God.

    I had an experience when Bob’s sister and mother took me to a “church of Christ” —(It turned out not to be that at all) and the preacher spoke on the book of Easter and even got the story wrong – really wrong – and then spent half the time talking about mythology. No one talked to us after services. But, I will say it was one of the most physically gorgeous, opulent churches I have ever been in – ha. Even their order of worship had information for renting their facilities for weddings and other events.

    I loved so much seeing you on Friday and hope your entire weekend went well. I for one am wiped out today – my energy level just fizzled last night and I am recharging my batteries today.

    Love, nikii

    >

Leave a Reply

