Real Life-Resurrection Life

19 Oct

Good Morning,

I just want to say, I love Eugene Peterson.  This paraphrase of Romans 8:12-17 is vibrant, and life-giving.  So often the Bible sounds old and dry and nothing to do with our current lives.  I know that understanding has driven many a biblical scholar to make the text real and living.  Well, Eugene Peterson’s, The Message, does it for me.

12-14 So don’t you see that we don’t owe this old do-it-yourself life one red cent. There’s nothing in it for us, nothing at all. The best thing to do is give it a decent burial and get on with your new life. God’s Spirit beckons. There are things to do and places to go!

15-17 This resurrection life you received from God is not a timid, grave-tending life. It’s adventurously expectant, greeting God with a childlike “What’s next, Papa?” God’s Spirit touches our spirits and confirms who we really are. We know who he is, and we know who we are: Father and children. And we know we are going to get what’s coming to us—an unbelievable inheritance! We go through exactly what Christ goes through. If we go through the hard times with him, then we’re certainly going to go through the good times with him!

I will confess that this past week has been difficult for me for several reasons.  I have tried, as best I can, to look the emotional pain right in the eye and see it for what it is – old brokenness that needs to be surrendered and released.  However, caught in the feelings, I just want to curl up under the ‘blanket of woe’ and stay there. . . there is little energy to move on.   That’s the bad news.

The good news is, I read Eugene Peterson and smile.  I know that his paraphrase of Paul’s words is true.  This resurrection life is an adventure and I don’t owe the old sadness one red cent.  It is a place to begin anew today.

Now, because I am old, I know that those feelings of pain will return, but I don’t have to give the any attention – they belong to life that I have no power over.  Yet, God has the power to heal the brokenness – and I need to ‘work the program’.

So. . .

Once again, this morning, I commit my life to Christ.  I surrender all that is to his love and rise again with his power.  It is only by the grace of the Divine that my life is rescued again today.  This is the dailiness that St. Benedict understood.  It is the dailiness that bring hope and peace and adventure to my life again.  Peace.

Leave a Reply

