All Twisted Up

12 Oct

Good Morning,

All twisted up; that’s the way it feels sometimes in my head.  What’s good, what’s bad, what’s important, what’s unimportant.  I serve little church now, and on a Sunday when there is a lot to do other than “go to church”, or there are a number of folks who are ill, it looks pretty spare in my churches.   I think about those churches that have Bands and Screens and Excitement, but it’s just doesn’t seem the right fit for my little churches or for me.

I think worship is about relationship.  About coming before God to give thanks for the week that has past and strength for the week to come and reflect on how my walk with the Divine is going.  That’s it.  That and joining with my church family to share the load and the love and the wisdom of God’s presence.

In this section of the Book of Romans, Paul is talking about how the law, which started out helpful, got twisted into a code to get around and get people into trouble.

8-12 Don’t you remember how it was? I do, perfectly well. The law code started out as an excellent piece of work. What happened, though, was that sin found a way to pervert the command into a temptation, making a piece of “forbidden fruit” out of it. The law code, instead of being used to guide me, was used to seduce me. Without all the paraphernalia of the law code, sin looked pretty dull and lifeless, and I went along without paying much attention to it. But once sin got its hands on the law code and decked itself out in all that finery, I was fooled, and fell for it. The very command that was supposed to guide me into life was cleverly used to trip me up, throwing me headlong. So sin was plenty alive, and I was stone dead. But the law code itself is God’s good and common sense, each command sane and holy counsel.

13 I can already hear your next question: “Does that mean I can’t even trust what is good [that is, the law]? Is good just as dangerous as evil?” No again! Sin simply did what sin is so famous for doing: using the good as a cover to tempt me to do what would finally destroy me. By hiding within God’s good commandment, sin did far more mischief than it could ever have accomplished on its own.

C.S. Lewis talks about this idea in, Mere Christianity.  The instincts we are good; helpful for our survival, but when they become it center of our focus instead of God, they become destructive.  He gives examples like, making money is good and necessary, but when it becomes the center of life, it is a weight around our life.  Or, sex is good and important to keep human begins going on the planet, but when it become all important, or used in harmful ways, then it breaks our relationship with God.

I know there is evil in our world.  I often think the most dangerous evil is that which is hard to see.  Not the big; guns killing people evil, which is easy to identify and not something I am likely to fall prey to carrying out.  But the little, twisted stuff, like not enjoying worship at my little churches because some people didn’t show up.  The worship is about me and God and serving the best I can.  I think I will continue to do that and ask God to show me the evil in my life, because really, that’s all that God and I have any chance of changing.   Peace

Leave a Reply

