Hello Again

12 Jun

Good Morning Friends,

I want to bring you up to date on the blog and the Celebration of Discipline study.  As I reached the half-way point on the study, I had participants dropping out like flies.  The spring is always busy for families, a some of the folks were in the middle of “Cancer” stuff.  So, we decided to do the second half in the fall.

If I am going to continue to blog through the summer, I will have to find something to blog about; scripture is my preference.  I was thinking about blogging through the book of Romans – a favorite book of many.

If I don’t have something specific to blog about, I tend to put it off.  What do you think?  Do you want me to continue to blog?  What subject would you pick?

Life since the last time has been full.  I went to the Annual Conference in the area where I am serving now.  The Bishop has not been willing to transfer my membership, so I have no vote at conference sessions.  This makes it more boring than usual.  But, the good news is I saw three Orioles games with my cousin.  Yea!!

I have also re-upholstered a couch for our friends who live next and will finish the matching love seat soon.

On Saturday I performed a wedding for a young couple.  Today I will perform a funeral for Kim, a cousin of the mother of the groom.  Life is amazing and sad and always changing.  The sweet lady I am doing the funeral for was just in her late forties and died of kidney disease. (a kidney transplant failed and dialysis stopped being effective.)

Kim had contacted me a few months ago to renew her marriage vows in the church.  Her and her husband had not had a church wedding the first time around.  It was suppose to be in July, but her body didn’t last that long.  Her husband has requested I use 1 Corinthians 13:13 “13 And now faith, hope, and love abide, these three; and the greatest of these is love.”  during the service.  How true it is that these three things abide in our lives and even through our death.

One of the reasons I love ministry is I am honored to deal with real things in people’s lives.  The happy moment of marriage and babies and the sad moments of lost and death.  It is the real part of our lives and God is in midst of all of it.

I pray you sense the power of God’s presence in the midst of all you do; reading, re-upholstering, baseball games. prayer, joy and sadness.  God is there loving you and holding you through it all.   Peace

3 Responses to “Hello Again”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger June 12, 2015 at 1:28 pm #

    Romans sounds like a good choice to me; it’s one of my favorite books!

    • Linda Rose June 19, 2015 at 10:48 pm #

      To me, too–or any of the Gospels. Keep the blog coming, please, Mary!! : )

  2. Linda Rose June 16, 2015 at 1:58 am #

    Yes, I certainly hope that you will keep blogging, Mary! Romans sounds good to me, or one of the Gospels. Blogger’s choice. : )

Leave a Reply

