The beginning and the end

13 May

Good morning,

One of Jesus’ names is Alpha and Omega.   I think it is the nature of our true lives to have our beginning and end in the presence and power of the Divine.  If we begin our days in God’s grace then there is comfort and peace at the end of our days.

Somewhere in my journey of faith I took Paul’s theological reflection on the life and meaning of Christ seriously.

Galatians 2:19-21

19 For through the law I died to the law, so that I might live to God. I have been crucified with Christ; 20 and it is no longer I who live, but it is Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. 21 I do not nullify the grace of God; for if justification comes through the law, then Christ died for nothing.

I have come to believe that I have died with Christ, and my life is no longer my own.  Actually, this is one of the meanings of baptism; that we have been buried with Jesus and risen to new life in Christ.  Usually the power of that symbol is not seen in our churches.

I think if we can wrap our mind around this concept it can be freeing for our lives.  I know that my life is held in God, I know that my death will be held in God, I can just relax and enjoy the daily walk.

I pray you can find the power and peace of this concept from Paul for your lives.

Leave a Reply

