Time off

27 Apr

Good Morning,

My Celebration of Discipline group met yesterday to talk about Solitude.  I really was a good discussion, although we began by agreeing that an afternoon nap might be more helpful.  I was reminded how little time we spend in quite before the Divine.  This is different than meditation.  I think in meditation we try focus our minds; intentional moving towards a link with God.

I think in solitude we just sit – almost like sitting with an empty bucket and waiting for God to fill it.  In solitude we are completely relaxed, not yearning for anything, just waiting.  It is a very restful discipline.  The video we watched pointed out that it is this discipline where all the others arise.  Until we are silent before God, seek solitude with the Divine, we can not discern where God is leading us in our spiritual life.

I enjoy solitude.  It has helped me to not be anxious, be relaxed in the present moment, not need to defend myself or my decision.  It help me to find that holy leisure.

I often think if we are not spending time trying to develop the holy center of our lives, then what are we doing.  Maybe that was what Paul was talking about when he said, “do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Here’s to a day of being silent before the Eternal Divine in solitude, waiting for our empty bucket to be filled by God.  I really think this empty bucket is better than a bucket list.

Peace

One Response to “Time off”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger April 27, 2015 at 3:18 pm #

    I liked how you explained the difference between solitude and meditation.

Leave a Reply

