The Gift of Mindfulness

4 Apr

One of the areas in my life that I try to improve daily is mindfulness.  To be full present each moment and experience what is going on around me.  The richness of life is amazing when I engage what is around me, rather than letting my mind run to what I have to get done or replay a frustrating moment of my day.

We can learn and enjoy the gift of life around us.  Driving home from my church on the mountain on Thursday night I saw four beautiful deer.  I said thank you to them for crossing the road before me and not on my car.  After we looked at each other for a moment I said good-night.

Saturday,  The study of a nonverbal book             Proverbs 24: 30-34

30 I passed by the field of one who was lazy,
by the vineyard of a stupid person;
31 and see, it was all overgrown with thorns;
the ground was covered with nettles,
and its stone wall was broken down.
32 Then I saw and considered it;
I looked and received instruction.
33 A little sleep, a little slumber,
a little folding of the hands to rest,
34 and poverty will come upon you like a robber,
and want, like an armed warrior.

I pray this day you will have the ‘holy leisure’ to see the Divine creation around you and learn from each moment.  Peace

One Response to “The Gift of Mindfulness”

  1. Linda April 17, 2015 at 4:52 pm #

    Hi, Mary! I love your mindfulness example. 🙂 I’m not quite getting the reading, though; it sounds almost like a warning against relaxing or rest, but I usually don’t feel very mindful when it’s go, go, go. I guess they’re saying go but at a pace that allows you to be present, not frenetic? As in, don’t let your rest time become sloth time? But when they say “a little time” for prayer and it’ll be poverty time, that sounds kind of alarming!

Leave a Reply

