30 Mar

Good morning,

I hope your Palm Sunday celebrations were meaningful and that you to have entered into this holy week in Jesus’ life.

Yesterday in class we talked about fasting.  I think the wisdom that I took away from the meeting is two fold.  First, as with all aspects of our lives, a fast is God inspired and God directed.  I don’t think we have to wait from the word on high, but when we choose to fast it should be out of a place of deep prayer.  Secondly, that fasting, more than any of the disciplines can reveal what holds us in bondage.  So, the process of fasting becomes a process of revelation of the parts of ourselves that we keep from God.

I am going to try to re-institute a routine of fasting.  Of course, I tell you this not to say – “look at me; I’m fasting!”.  But to encourage you to join me on the journey.  If there is wisdom that you find as you submit to this most disliked and misunderstood discipline, please share with me and I will do the same.

This week we begin the discipline of Study.  Since there is no class on Easter, we will be enjoying Study for two weeks.  I think going in knowledge, and therefore, love of God has been the greatest gift in my life.  The Proverbs call us to study.

Sunday,  Call to study                                  Proverbs 1:1-9, 23:12, 23

The proverbs of Solomon son of David, king of Israel:

For learning about wisdom and instruction,
for understanding words of insight,
for gaining instruction in wise dealing,
righteousness, justice, and equity;
to teach shrewdness to the simple,
knowledge and prudence to the young—
let the wise also hear and gain in learning,
and the discerning acquire skill,
to understand a proverb and a figure,
the words of the wise and their riddles.

The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge;
fools despise wisdom and instruction.

Hear, my child, your father’s instruction,
and do not reject your mother’s teaching;
for they are a fair garland for your head,
and pendants for your neck.

Apply your mind to instruction
and your ear to words of knowledge.

Buy truth, and do not sell it;
buy wisdom, instruction, and understanding.

 

I always find it sad that many of the “religious groups” of our time are so anti-intellectual.  They have declared that asking questions in unfaithful.  This has never set well with me.  I think asking questions and praying and seeking God’s wisdom is a great way to employ our time.

Monday,  The source of truth

James 1:5    If any of you is lacking in wisdom, ask God, who gives to all generously and ungrudgingly, and it will be given you.

Hebrew 4: 11-13   11 Let us therefore make every effort to enter that rest, so that no one may fall through such disobedience as theirs.12 Indeed, the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing until it divides soul from spirit, joints from marrow; it is able to judge the thoughts and intentions of the heart. 13 And before him no creature is hidden, but all are naked and laid bare to the eyes of the one to whom we must render an account.

2 Timothy 3:16-17  16 All scripture is inspired by God and is useful for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, 17 so that everyone who belongs to God may be proficient, equipped for every good work.

So, scripture is a wonderful source of study.  Yet, as I look out my window at the birds at our feeder, I know they reveal an aspect of the Divine as well.

I pray we will drink deep from the well of the Eternal this most holy of weeks.

Peace

Leave a Reply

