guidance

20 Mar

Good morning friends,

I often feel like I need a ‘minder.’  Someone to watch out and tell me when I do stupid stuff – which is quite often.  I mixed up the scripture readings.  No one would have know had I not put each day at the top of the reading in BOLD print. So, here is yesterday reading today.  I hope you enjoyed today’s reading yesterday.

Let’s move on.  The reading I am using today is Jesus in the garden.  I think this prayer has been romanticized throughout the years.  Even the paintings of this scene seem antiseptic to me.  Jesus is in Jerusalem, everyone is plotting against him, working to use him for their own purposes, and Jesus is trying one more time to show his disciples the power of the love of God.  I think he goes to the garden to find the strength for the hours to come; to see through what his boldness in announcing the kingdom of God has produced.

Thursday,  The prayer of guidance       Matthew 26:36-46

36 Then Jesus went with them to a place called Gethsemane; and he said to his disciples, “Sit here while I go over there and pray.” 37 He took with him Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, and began to be grieved and agitated. 38 Then he said to them, “I am deeply grieved, even to death; remain here, and stay awake with me.” 39 And going a little farther, he threw himself on the ground and prayed, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from me; yet not what I want but what you want.” 40 Then he came to the disciples and found them sleeping; and he said to Peter, “So, could you not stay awake with me one hour? 41 Stay awake and pray that you may not come into the time of trial the spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” 42 Again he went away for the second time and prayed, “My Father, if this cannot pass unless I drink it, your will be done.” 43 Again he came and found them sleeping, for their eyes were heavy. 44 So leaving them again, he went away and prayed for the third time, saying the same words. 45 Then he came to the disciples and said to them, “Are you still sleeping and taking your rest? See, the hour is at hand, and the Son of Man is betrayed into the hands of sinners. 46 Get up, let us be going. See, my betrayer is at hand.”

Can you imagine how frustrated and tired you would be if you had explained to your friends that you were going to be killed, asked them to pray with you, and all they did was fall asleep!  I think Jesus was ready to walk to his death just because he was so frustrated with the whole situation.  Try reading the last verse again in a completely disgusted voice.

Through it all Jesus looked to God.  I think he might have felt like a failure, wondering if all the healing and food and teaching would be wasted.  But, his focus is on God and the trust that God will give him the strength to endure the worst our world has to offer.  I think prayer really changes things – it is the link with the Divine Presence that was with Jesus in the garden and with us on each step of the journey.

Peace

2 Responses to “guidance”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger March 20, 2015 at 1:52 pm #

    Mary,

    Thanks for your commentary; it’s the best I’ve ever read concerning this text. I appreciate your thoughts and devotion to posting for the masses.

  2. Lauri Capwell March 21, 2015 at 12:09 am #

    I agree Phyllis! And we don’t care that the text was mixed up. I just enjoy reading with all of each day!

Leave a Reply

