And Now We Sing Praises

18 Mar

Good Morning,

Yesterday we prayed for forgiveness.  Letting all that old garbage go lightens our load.  It is great that our Bible reading today is a prayer of thanksgiving.

Years ago I read, Conversations with God.  The book wasn’t great, but I remember the author encouraged everyone to be more grateful.  So, my rule became that before I got out of bed I had to find  5 reasons to say thank you to God.   My list often included simple things like thanks for a warm bed, the ability to get out of bed, work that I love, etc.  It really did become easier throughout the day to have a sense of gratitude, even when life was not going that well.  I feel a greater sense of balance in my day when I can give thanks to God and live lightly with the circumstances that surround me.

So, let just praise the Lord.

Wednesday,  The prayer of thanksgiving      Psalm 150

Praise the Lord!
Praise God in his sanctuary;
praise him in his mighty firmament!
Praise him for his mighty deeds;
praise him according to his surpassing greatness!

Praise him with trumpet sound;
praise him with lute and harp!
Praise him with tambourine and dance;
praise him with strings and pipe!
Praise him with clanging cymbals;
praise him with loud clashing cymbals!
Let everything that breathes praise the Lord!
Praise the Lord!

Since we are part of God’s creation that is breathing, let’s praise the Lord, too.  What can we do today to bring praise to God’s name?  Maybe, just smiling would be a good way to start.

Peace,

Mary

Leave a Reply

