Letting Garbage Go

17 Mar

Good Morning,

I sometimes think that we are so tried and stressed because we do not let go of garbage in our lives.  We try to work out who is to blame; think of reasons why it is none of our fault; rehearse phrases we can use to explain, blame, and release ourselves from guilt (we really didn’t do anything wrong, right???).

One of the things that Jesus did that really got people angry with him was he keep on forgiving people, even when we wasn’t he one directly ‘sinned against’.  Who was he to offer what only came from God, and should be given from the one who had been transgressed against.

So, this morning we have a prayer for repentance as our reading; how about letting go of some garbage.  Does it truly matter who was right and who was wrong; there is brokenness – let God heal it in you life.  This does not mean that you need to have a relationship with the person – maybe it is an unhealthy relationship – but let the anger, frustration, mental loop that replays the injury go.  I found Lewis Smedes’ book, Forgive and Forget, really helpful on this topic.

Tuesday,  The prayer of repentance                   Psalm 51

Have mercy on me, O God,
according to your steadfast love;
according to your abundant mercy
blot out my transgressions.
Wash me thoroughly from my iniquity,
and cleanse me from my sin.

For I know my transgressions,
and my sin is ever before me.
Against you, you alone, have I sinned,
and done what is evil in your sight,
so that you are justified in your sentence
and blameless when you pass judgment.
Indeed, I was born guilty,
a sinner when my mother conceived me.

You desire truth in the inward being;
therefore teach me wisdom in my secret heart.
Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean;
wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.
Let me hear joy and gladness;
let the bones that you have crushed rejoice.
Hide your face from my sins,
and blot out all my iniquities.

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God,
and put a new and right spirit within me.
11 Do not cast me away from your presence,
and do not take your holy spirit from me.
12 Restore to me the joy of your salvation,
and sustain in me a willing spirit.

13 Then I will teach transgressors your ways,
and sinners will return to you.
14 Deliver me from bloodshed, O God,
O God of my salvation,
and my tongue will sing aloud of your deliverance.

18 Do good to Zion in your good pleasure; rebuild the walls of Jerusalem,

19 then you will delight in right sacrifices,
in burnt offerings and whole burnt offerings;
then bulls will be offered on your altar.

I pray you take time to breathe, let all the old garbage go, and release the pain of the brokenness in your life.  Let forgiveness wash over you. Truly, God is the one who has been sinned against.

In the forgiving arms of the Divine is a restful place to be.

Peace,

One Response to “Letting Garbage Go”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger March 17, 2015 at 3:22 pm #

    I’m going to check out Lewis Smedes’ book; it’s a concept I’ve struggled with for years. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

