Walking

25 Feb

Greetings,

With Celebration of Discipline delayed for a week, I thought I would share a writing from my morning meditation.  One of the gifts I brought myself this Christmas was a new book for my morning devotional time.  The book is Your True Home: the everyday wisdom of Thich Nhat Hanh.  It is a wonderful book of blessing with 365 short writings.  The one for yesterday morning was

The Real Miracle

I like to walk alone on country paths, rice plants and wide grasses on both sides, putting each foot down on the earth in mindfulness, knowing that I walk on the wondrous earth.  In such moments, existence is a miraculous and mysterious reality.  People usually consider walking on water or in thin air a miracle.  But I think the real miracle is not to walk either on water or in thin air, but to walk on the earth.  Every day we are engaged in a miracle that we don’t even recognize:  a blue sky, white clouds, green leaves, the black, curious eyes of a child – our own two eyes.  All is a miracle.

I love the simplicity of Thich Nhat Hanh’s writings.  I think it is a miracle to live with awareness in the present moment each day.  Recently, I have been with dear church members who know the disease in a loved ones body is winning the battle.  To watch the love and compassion of difficult decision, to trust the promises of our faith, to be privileged to be present when life is so hard is a miracle.

I think I find so much joy in this life because I have worked for many years to train my eyes to look at life with God’s love for all of God’s creation.  I know there is much in our world that is not right, but I think God rejoices at the smallest gifts of love and care; I think God rejoices in each smile and every time we turn to God.  I think God rejoices when we walk on this wonderfully created, diverse, complicated earth that the Divine Presence has lent to us for a season.

I pray you take time to breath and enjoy the gift of walking today. Peace.

One Response to “Walking”

  1. Lauri Capwell February 27, 2015 at 12:55 am #

    What a lovely, simplistic way to see the joy in every day. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

