Details

21 Feb

Hello Friends,

I wanted to clarify how I will be using the blog for the next three months.  I am offering a study series on Celebration of Discipline by Richard Foster to my churches.  The first class will be tomorrow, if the snow abates.  So, we will discussing the first chapter.  I will give you the highlights.

The scripture lessons I have been posting are the daily scripture readings listed in the participants guide.  The people in my churches are getting them printed out.

So here is the one for Saturday.

Saturday,  The victory of Spiritual Disciplines

Ephesians 6:10-20

10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in the strength of his power. 11 Put on the whole armor of God, so that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. 12 For our struggle is not against enemies of blood and flesh, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers of this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places.13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, so that you may be able to withstand on that evil day, and having done everything, to stand firm. 14 Stand therefore, and fasten the belt of truth around your waist, and put on the breastplate of righteousness. 15 As shoes for your feet put on whatever will make you ready to proclaim the gospel of peace. 16 With all of these, take the shield of faith, with which you will be able to quench all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

18 Pray in the Spirit at all times in every prayer and supplication. To that end keep alert and always persevere in supplication for all the saints. 19 Pray also for me, so that when I speak, a message may be given to me to make known with boldness the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains. Pray that I may declare it boldly, as I must speak.

Have you ever thought about what you fight against.  I am not a warrior, not even a hunter, but I do know that I need to fight against evil.  I have never known how to fight against big evil – injustice, oppression, racism – all the ism.  But, I am learning how to fight against worry, and jealousy, and angry, and despondency.  For me this passage lets me know that evil is in our world and we need to seek God’s strength to fight for the joy and peace that the Divine has made available to us.

Peace to you on this snow covered day.

2 Responses to “Details”

  1. Lauri Capwell February 21, 2015 at 7:09 pm #

    Has anyone ever listened to or watched TED talks? They are fascinating to me but sadly, I don’t always take the time to watch or listen. I received my weekly e-mail update today and the very first talk is by a gentleman named Guy Winch and is entitled “Why we all need to practice emotional first aid”.
    Here is a quote: “Loneliness won’t just make you miserable, it will kill you. I’m not kidding. Chronic loneliness increases your likelihood of an early death by 14 percent. In fact, scientists have concluded that chronic loneliness poses as significant a risk for your longterm health and longevity as cigarette smoking. Now cigarette packs come with warnings saying, “This could kill you.” But loneliness doesn’t. And that’s why it’s so important that we prioritize our psychological health, that we practice emotional hygiene. Because you can’t treat a psychological wound if you don’t even know you’re injured”
    I know people who are fighting loneliness – I am sure you do too. God sends armor (help) in ways we don’t always see…but if we are willing to keep our hearts open, I believe we can become stronger through God’s amazing grace.

  2. Linda Rose March 7, 2015 at 2:48 am #

    “But, I am learning how to fight against worry, and jealousy, and angry, and despondency.” I love that, Mary! What a great reminder….

Leave a Reply

