Celebration

12 Feb

Good Morning friends,

Once again I am beginning a class on “Celebration of Discipline” by Richard Foster.  I love this book.  I have been reading it and using it in church settings since 1995.  It was life changing for me then and continues to encourage my spiritual journey.

Foster’s book was first published in 1978, and it is as true today.  The book begins:  “Superficiality is the curse of our age.  The doctrine of instant satisfaction is a primary spiritual problem.  The desperate need today is not for a greater number of intelligent people, or gifted people, but for deep people.”

It is what I want for my life.  To be a deep person.  Tethered to God in each moment and living from that peaceful center.  On a good day it brings more satisfaction and joy.  And on a bad day, it brings meaning and peace.   On a bad day the spiritual discipline also provide a lens to view the events and explore what is actually going on inside myself to see the events as bad.

This stuff gets really deep really fast.  It is another thing I love about Foster’s book. It makes it all understandable and doable.

So for the next 13 weeks I am going to be doing this book for my churches.  Do you want to join the group and the conversation?  You could read along.  We begin on Sunday.  I will post insights from the conversation of the class.

What do you think?  I passionately believe the most important growth we can work on is our relationship with the Divine.

For me, it makes sense of my life and keeps me enjoying the present moment.

Peace

4 Responses to “Celebration”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger February 12, 2015 at 3:09 pm #

    I’ll read along. I’ve read it several times but it is always insightful and full of wisdom. I’ll make it part of my Lenten devotional.

    Thanks,
    Phyllis

    • Linda Rose March 7, 2015 at 2:57 am #

      I’ve never read it. Thanks for telling me about it. I’ll try to keep up! 🙂

  2. nikii February 12, 2015 at 3:28 pm #

    I’ve loved this book for many years, and often given it as a gift! Foster’s other books are also of great value. Nikii

  3. Nikii Frank February 17, 2015 at 10:51 pm #

    Mary, Do you have a regular email address?

    I’ve just written a card to you about your Dad. (coming US MAIL!!) I know change can be hard. Hope your Mom is doing well and also you!!!

    Nikii Frank

Leave a Reply

