Sad days

28 Jan
A great face

A great face

This was my dad on his 85th birthday.  Dad died early Sunday morning.   When Mom and I were leaving the nursing home where dad had died she asked if I was going to do Sunday service.  Without really thinking about it, I said “yes, it’s what I know how to do.”

Dad’s service will be this Friday at his home church, John Wesley United Methodist.  In these in between days I try to figure out what to do.  It is nice when I have a task to complete.  It is good to feel productive.  It is good to feel like I can make a difference in the face of something so immovable like death.

Mom and I had Dad moved to a nursing home on Epiphany, January 6th.  The first night I left him there I asked if there was anything I could bring him.  He smiled and said, “good health.”  Of course, I couldn’t manage that.  We are so powerless in so many situations.  I really don’t know how people surviving with loving God.

I am thankful for all the gifts of this day; memories of Dad, work to do, a safe place to live, and way more clothes, purses and shoes than any one person needs.

Counting my blessings, thankful for prayers that hold me up, as God walks with me through these days.  Peace.

One Response to “Sad days”

  1. Nicole Alvarez January 28, 2015 at 3:27 pm #

    Hi Mary,

    Just wanted to let you know that I am praying for you, your mother, and all of your family!

    Nicole A.

Leave a Reply

