Living in between

14 Jan

I have often felt like I was living in between the events that shape my life.  Such as the days before my sons were born, or the days before I heard whether or not I would be ordained by the church, or the wondering whether I would find a church to serve while I helped to care for my parents.

Now we are living through Dad’s last stage of life.  On the winter solstice Dad had a terrible cough, the day before Christmas eve he was admitted into Hospice care and on Epiphany he was taken to Julia Manor Nursing Home because we could no longer care for him at home.  Mom and I and my brother trade off sitting with him in this room.  He has good days and bad.  Yesterday he was awake and eat like he had never seen food before; today he is sleeping and somewhat confused.  Living in between.

It is difficult when your body becomes unhelpful.  I think of so many people who live this reality everyday.

I look for blessings in this in between world.  A safe and caring place for Dad to be; flexible work that allows me to be a reassuring presence with him in these in between days; good friends who pray for me and my family.

I pray you see the blessings of God as well.  God is there, loving us into transformation, in each drop of time.

2 Responses to “Living in between”

  1. Gail Perdue January 16, 2015 at 2:25 am #

    Mary, You & your family continue to be in our thoughts and prayers. I know first hand how very hard it is to experience what you’re going through right now. Just know that you are not alone. Hugs, Gail & Darren

  2. Linda Rose January 24, 2015 at 9:21 pm #

    “I look for blessings….” What a beautiful reminder and good example, Mary. It’s easy for me to dwell on what is awry, so I’m trying to remember Phil. 4:8 and think on what is lovely. Actively looking for blessings is a wonderful way to do that, so thank you! Praying for you and your family, and wishing you peace and joy together. xo – Linda

Leave a Reply

