Always Blessed

6 Nov

I really love the Bible.  I can read through a text a hundred times and then on the 101st reading, I find something incredible.  I have heard the beatitudes all my life and never really liked them.  It just sounded like an ongoing list that did not make a lot of sense to me.  I know the “peacemaker” line is nice; but really, what does it mean???

“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

“Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.

“Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.

“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.

“Blessed are the merciful, for they will receive mercy.

“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called children of God.

10 “Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

11 “Blessed are you when people revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely[b] on my account. 12 Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for in the same way they persecuted the prophets who were before you.

Maybe it is all about verse 12 and encouraging the early Christians.  They had a really tough time (i.e. could have been killed) for living their beliefs in Jesus as the Christ, the son of the living God.

But, like I said, I finally had an insight after reading this list for the 101st time.  Maybe Jesus was one more time trying to tell the people how much God loved them.  I know it is easier to believe God loves me when I do something well or am bold in telling others about my faith.  But here, God is blessing those who morn, those who are meek, those who are even poor in spirit.

I should have seen it sooner; God is always blessings us.  No matter where we are, no matter what we are doing.  Even when life is not going well.  Even when our faith is weak and we have trouble believing the wonder of the Divine.  God says we are blessed.  Maybe we feel like saying, “Screw you God, I don’t feel blessed” (I have had these kind of days).

But our faith is not about feeling, it is about believing.  It helps me to know that on my worse days; God says that I am blessed.

I have literally spent years intentional trying to find God’s blessing everywhere.  But I must confess, that it too often the blessing rested on my faith and strength and emotions.    I hope in the future I can remember in times that life sad and painful that God’s blessings is there.  The human reality that I do not feel it does not remove the Divine reality that it is there.

You are blessed, I am blessed. .  on good days and bad; when our loved ones are safe and when they are not; when our bodies are healthy and when they are not; when life turns out just the way we planned and when it does not.

I continue to to seek the blessing, it is like a path of crumbs to the presence of the living God.

Peace.

Leave a Reply

