A Wonderful Celebration

23 Jun

Yesterday was my birthday, it was wonderful.

I went to worship in the morning. A great way to start the day. Dear friends there gave me beautiful roses and a lovely card.
Then I came home to my Mom’s signature pancakes with fresh blueberries, yum. And then, the Orioles shut out the Yankees and won the rubber match! What could be better.

A special blessing of the day were so many birthday greetings from so many people. I got traditional cards from a number of friends, e-greeting cards from others, phone calls from some of my family and lots and lots of Facebook greetings.

The interesting part for me is that there were greetings from “different lives” I have had: a phone call from a childhood friend, Facebook greeting from a friend from my seminary days, more Facebook greetings from my days in Tunkhannock and Vestal, and conversations with both my sons.

Is this what heaven is like? All the people from past and present come together to enjoy a day with you. It is not like the days of your ordinary life, but a different way to enjoy the blessing God has given to you.

I see God’s blessings everywhere. From the time I wake up from a warm and comfortable bed to the time I lie down in it again. And, in the midst of that comfort I pray for people around the world who live in difficult circumstances and I do have the luxury in which, I am by chance, blessed to enjoy.

These are my thoughts on my journey today. God’s blessing abound and the work of God’s people is so needed in our world. I pray you enjoy God’s presence today and find good work to do. Peace.

4 Responses to “A Wonderful Celebration”

  1. Nicole Alvarez June 23, 2014 at 11:48 am #

    Hi Mary, I almost called you right after the game ended yesterday day to say “Happy Birthday” and “What a nice present from the O’s!” I am happy that your birthday was good.

  2. Lois Rose June 23, 2014 at 5:51 pm #

    Birthdays are a great time for reflection…I like the line about “different lives”, so true. Glad your day was special.

  3. Phyllis Terwilliger June 23, 2014 at 7:12 pm #

    Mary,

    I’m glad you had a wonderful day.

    In motion,
    Phyllis

  4. Linda Rose June 25, 2014 at 3:45 am #

    Happy Belated Birthday, Mary! Wishing you a beautiful year.
    Posts like yours *help* God’s people feel God’s presence. Thank you for the dose of peace. 🙂

Leave a Reply

