Here’s one of my questions

12 Apr

Okay, of the two people who viewed yesterday’s blog, none of them had any questions about the last 48 hours of Jesus’ life. So, here is one of mine. I have always wondered about the time in the garden during Jesus’ prayer.

36-38 Then Jesus went with them to a garden called Gethsemane and told his disciples, “Stay here while I go over there and pray.” Taking along Peter and the two sons of Zebedee, he plunged into an agonizing sorrow. Then he said, “This sorrow is crushing my life out. Stay here and keep vigil with me.”

39 Going a little ahead, he fell on his face, praying, “My Father, if there is any way, get me out of this. But please, not what I want. You, what do you want?”

Most people know that Jesus prayed for the circumstances of that night to change so he could avoid the pain to come. Maybe because I grew up knowing that part, it doesn’t intrigue me as much as the sleeping disciples.

40-41 When he came back to his disciples, he found them sound asleep. He said to Peter, “Can’t you stick it out with me a single hour? Stay alert; be in prayer so you don’t wander into temptation without even knowing you’re in danger. There is a part of you that is eager, ready for anything in God. But there’s another part that’s as lazy as an old dog sleeping by the fire.”

42 He then left them a second time. Again he prayed, “My Father, if there is no other way than this, drinking this cup to the dregs, I’m ready. Do it your way.”

43-44 When he came back, he again found them sound asleep. They simply couldn’t keep their eyes open. This time he let them sleep on, and went back a third time to pray, going over the same ground one last time.

45-46 When he came back the next time, he said, “Are you going to sleep on and make a night of it? My time is up, the Son of Man is about to be handed over to the hands of sinners. Get up! Let’s get going! My betrayer is here.”

My question is, would events unfolded differently that night if the disciplines had managed to stay awake? I know they had a long meal with lots of wine, but it is clear that their leader is really upset. Would they have been more prepared to engage the difficulty that Jesus was facing? I guess one of the reasons this has been a question for me for a number of year is because I think I am often asleep/not paying attention and I miss critical events.

Here is to being awake and in the present moment. Jesus wanted his friends praying for him. Let us see if we can be prayerful during these coming days.

Peace

One Response to “Here’s one of my questions”

  1. Gail Perdue April 13, 2014 at 1:42 am #

    Mary, I look forward to reading your blog every night. I don’t know if you are counting me? I hope you will continue writing. Thank you for your insights.

Leave a Reply

