Set as a Flint

8 Apr

The scripture lessons for Palm/Passion Sunday are numerous. Since I have just finished the Psalm, I will not repeat them. The other reading from the Hebrew Scriptures is from Isaiah 50:4-9a.

This passage was originally written about the prophet, but now is used as a description of Jesus. Since Jesus stands in the long line of prophets it is logical that this passage would be applied to him.

It seems as though one of the most important attributes of being a person of God is to wake up and listen. It is interesting how the most basic items are the most important.

The Master, God, has given me
a well-taught tongue,
So I know how to encourage tired people.
He wakes me up in the morning,
Wakes me up, opens my ears
to listen as one ready to take orders.
The Master, God, opened my ears,
and I didn’t go back to sleep,
didn’t pull the covers back over my head.

Then, after the obedience of waking up and listening, there is the tenacity of following through on the work that is given, even when it is difficult; even when others try to stop you.

I followed orders,
stood there and took it while they beat me,
held steady while they pulled out my beard,
Didn’t dodge their insults,
faced them as they spit in my face.
And the Master, God, stays right there and helps me,
so I’m not disgraced.
Therefore I set my face like flint,
confident that I’ll never regret this.
My champion is right here.
Let’s take our stand together!
Who dares bring suit against me?
Let him try!
Look! the Master, God, is right here.
Who would dare call me guilty?

For many years now I have drawn strength and resolve and peace from the fact that the only one I have to please is God. This is not in the, “God loves me and so everything I do is OK:, kind of way. But living with the conviction that if I walk humbly with God and work diligently at growing the fruits of the spirit in my life each day, then the opinion of others fade into the back ground. It is such a peaceful way to live.

I pray you find your journey with the Divine a joyous one this day. Look for the blessings are a waiting and enjoy the work there is to do. Peace.

Leave a Reply

