Opening Day

31 Mar

I have looked at the statistic of my blog and it looks like 1 or 2 people have been reading it lately. There is a great deal of freedom in that reality.

So, it is daybreak on opening day of the 2014 baseball season. The Orioles will be playing the Boston Red Sox at Camden Yard at 3 p.m. [I looked at the ticket prices and to go and stand in the stadium is $117.50!]

Last year I preached that opening day is like Easter – a new beginning and full of possibilities. On opening day anything can happen – the Orioles can win the World Series – Chris Davis can hit a new home run record – Manny Machado can make more incredible plays at third base – the possibilities are endless.

As a new baseball fan I know this feeling. It is the emotion of drawing close to God and seeing the new day through God’s eyes. Today I could actually control my tongue, I could be disciplined enough to get all the work done that I should and call all the people I should, I could even get all those notes written to people I love. Yes, it is a day of opportunities and possibilities.

I am not going to ruin the hope of opening day [or Easter for that matter] by knowing how quickly games can fall into the lost column of the year’s tallies. I am not going to focus on how often I do not do what I know God could accomplish through my faithfulness. I am just going to focus on hope and enjoy it today.

Our human existence gives us all kinds of experiences of new hope; opening day, a new baby, a new love, a new milestone reached in our lives. All of them are shadows of the one hope in God – the Easter hope – that death in finally conquered and new life is given. The joy of Christian is multifaceted; on that I like best is that each morning I can wake up and find forgiveness and healing for yesterdays failures, and new faith in what I can do today as a beloved child of God –
The possibilities are endless –
It’s Opening Day!!IMG_3965

One Response to “Opening Day”

  1. Nicole Alvarez March 31, 2014 at 4:14 pm #

    Just letting you know that I am reading your blog. It’s hot dogs, Cracker Jacks, and peanuts for supper. 😉

Leave a Reply

