Wake Up!

28 Mar

Throughout my Christian life I have met lots of types of people of faith. One of the types, usually Christian, believe it is their job to make sure everyone is going to heaven. There are at least two problems with this; 1. It usually is counterproductive to tell people that they are going to Hell unless they become like you, 2. It is not their job to decide who goes to heaven.

I like the Ephesians passage for this week even though it is in theological metaphorical language, it is clear. Christian are familiar with these symbols, so the passage become straight-forward.

Ephesians 5:8-16
The Message (MSG)
8-10 You groped your way through that murk once, but no longer. You’re out in the open now. The bright light of Christ makes your way plain. So no more stumbling around. Get on with it! The good, the right, the true—these are the actions appropriate for daylight hours. Figure out what will please Christ, and then do it.

How simple is this instruction, “Just do it”. It is amazing in our Christian life we go through all kinds of contortions, guilt, theologizing, which make us inactive; when if we just look at what Jesus did and try to walk the same path – we’ve got it!

11-16 Don’t waste your time on useless work, mere busywork, the barren pursuits of darkness. Expose these things for the sham they are. It’s a scandal when people waste their lives on things they must do in the darkness where no one will see. Rip the cover off those frauds and see how attractive they look in the light of Christ.

AND, don’t do things you shouldn’t. Think of how many excuses would die on our lips, if there was not excuse – if we said, “You’re right, I was told not to do it, so I shouldn’t have done it”. I once worked with a pastor who said I put too many, “shoulds” in my sermons; people saw this as judgmental. Well, I think the scripture does have a specific agenda and the only person I really held to the standard I was preaching about was me – others had to make their own choices.

Wake up from your sleep,
Climb out of your coffins;
Christ will show you the light!
So watch your step. Use your head. Make the most of every chance you get. These are desperate times!

BUT, we are suppose to look like people who have come out of the coffin and are living a Christ life. So, here’s the challenge for the day [and really every day] live like you really mean it; like you really meant the part about being raised with Christ into a new life; like you really mean that you are forgiven and made whole and you are suppose to extend that grace to others; like this is the first day of a new creation and God has all kinds of possibilities waiting for you. End of sermon. Peace.

2 Responses to “Wake Up!”

  1. Linda Rose April 1, 2014 at 3:50 am #

    Thank you for the good reminder, Mary, both when I look within and without. Mom reminded me of your blog. Now I have some catch-up reading to do on it. 🙂 Aaaah… Peace.

  2. Mary Hopfer April 16, 2014 at 11:15 pm #

    I have to catch up too. I forget about E-mail sometimes because I’m on facebook with my kids.

Leave a Reply

