Finished

26 Mar

This is my 190th blog and the last of the psalm. It is somewhat unbelievable to me that I have lasted this long. I will continue to blog through the rest of Lent. I appreciate people who comment in my blog and encourage me to write. I am amazed at how relaxed I have gotten about writing. I know that some of my grammar and spelling is wrong, but I have learned to live with it.

So, this is the final psalm and it is complete praise. It is also the way I feel about finishing this ‘assignment’. The writer is basically saying praise God everywhere and with everything. It sounds like a good idea to me.

150 1-6 Hallelujah!
Praise God in his holy house of worship,
praise him under the open skies;
Praise him for his acts of power,
praise him for his magnificent greatness;
Praise with a blast on the trumpet,
praise by strumming soft strings;
Praise him with castanets and dance,
praise him with banjo and flute;
Praise him with cymbals and a big bass drum,
praise him with fiddles and mandolin.
Let every living, breathing creature praise God!
Hallelujah!

As I said earlier, what if that was our main task in life? What if you were judged on how well your life praised God? I like I would like that world.

So, what’s your favorite way to praise God? What talent do you have to express how wonderful and life-giving God is in your life? For me, I love to sing, but try not to make others endure that gift of mine. But, talking about God, preaching and leading worship are enjoyable ways that I have in my life to praise God. And, I guess, writing in this blog has been an act of praise.

I hope you find the joy of a project completed, of a gift you have to praise God, and mostly, to enjoy the Divine presence as you joy this day. Peace.

2 Responses to “Finished”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger March 26, 2014 at 12:18 pm #

    Yeah, God and Yeah, Mary for your words of wisdom, humor and discipleship! Psalms was a book I avoided; thanks for commentary both within the context of the psalm and in the beginning and end. I enjoyed your format!

  2. Mary Hopfer March 26, 2014 at 2:52 pm #

    Mary, I didn’t know about your blog on Psalms until I talked to you in February.. Sorry I missed so much of it. I enjoy your thoughts and comments..Why don’t you choose another book in the bible for your blog?
    Did you get the ovens cleaned? Mother’s feelings are important,you know…lol….
    Speaking as a mother, of course.

    did you get th

Leave a Reply

