A Cry for Help

18 Mar

Psalm 143 is another poem of David when he is in trouble. David needs God’s help once more to escape from his enemies. Yet, even through David wants God to save him, David understand that his life is not blameless. He asks God to not take him to court – who could get through that trial.

143 1-2 Listen to this prayer of mine, God;
pay attention to what I’m asking.
Answer me—you’re famous for your answers!
Do what’s right for me.
But don’t, please don’t, haul me into court;
not a person alive would be acquitted there.

There is such passion in this psalm. I can feel myself in the midst of David’s pain. I know when I have been in painful circumstance and “remembered the old days” when life was easier. Yet, I as grow older I am pretty sure that even the old days where not as good as I thought they were.

3-6
The enemy hunted me down;
he kicked me and stomped me within an inch of my life.
He put me in a black hole,
buried me like a corpse in that dungeon.
I sat there in despair, my spirit draining away,
my heart heavy, like lead.
I remembered the old days,
went over all you’ve done, pondered the ways you’ve worked,
Stretched out my hands to you,
as thirsty for you as a desert thirsty for rain.

David at the end of his rope is looking for God. Of course, God is always right there beside us. David wants to wake each morning to God’s voice. I think that morning devotion time is wonderful, but hearing God’s voice is a rare blessing. Yet, we can have faith and trust in God’s love for us and journey with Christ to that cleared and level pastureland. (David saw his God-images through the lens of a shepherd, I wonder how we see our God-images?)

7-10
Hurry with your answer, God!
I’m nearly at the end of my rope.
Don’t turn away; don’t ignore me!
That would be certain death.
If you wake me each morning with the sound of your loving voice,
I’ll go to sleep each night trusting in you.
Point out the road I must travel;
I’m all ears, all eyes before you.
Save me from my enemies, God—
you’re my only hope!
Teach me how to live to please you,
because you’re my God.
Lead me by your blessed Spirit
into cleared and level pastureland.

David wants God to show God’s power through his life. God will show David’s enemies that God is the one who is the true Divine One. And all of it is a reasonable request because David is God’s servant. I guess David figures his benefactor should come through in the clutch. What I like in this psalm is David’s absolute reliance on a very real and passionate relationship with God.

11-12
Keep up your reputation, God—give me life!
In your justice, get me out of this trouble!
In your great love, vanquish my enemies;
make a clean sweep of those who harass me.
And why? Because I’m your servant.

So, are you God’s servant? Are you counting on God today as God is counting on you. I pray you feel the presence of the Divine as you deal with all the details of your day. Peace

One Response to “A Cry for Help”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger March 18, 2014 at 2:14 pm #

    Thanks, Mary, for providing us with spiritual nourishment during this Lenten season.

Leave a Reply

