From Complaint to Blessing

17 Mar

It is a new week and I am as close to being busy as I ever am in this new life. I have something to do almost every day. It is really weird how life changes all the time. The good news is God remains the same; always there, always loving.

The psalm for the day finds the writer in trouble and crying out to God. I think it is always a good idea to talk to God about the troubles in our lives. Actually, I find if I can be specific with God about what I think is wrong, it doesn’t look so bad.

142 1-2 I cry out loudly to God,
loudly I plead with God for mercy.
I spill out all my complaints before him,
and spell out my troubles in detail:

This psalm is attributed to David and said to be when he is in the cave hiding from King Saul; enemies are all around and the situation seems hopeless. Eugene Peterson’s paraphrase has the cry, “You’re my last chance, my only hope for life!”. [I hear Princess Leia’s hologram talking to Obi-Wan Kenobi]. Yet, from my perspective, God is our first hope for life. The place where possibilities begin.

3-7
“As I sink in despair, my spirit ebbing away,
you know how I’m feeling,
Know the danger I’m in,
the traps hidden in my path.
Look right, look left—
there’s not a soul who cares what happens!
I’m up against it, with no exit—
bereft, left alone.
I cry out, God, call out:
‘You’re my last chance, my only hope for life!’
Oh listen, please listen;
I’ve never been this low.
Rescue me from those who are hunting me down;
I’m no match for them.
Get me out of this dungeon
so I can thank you in public.
Your people will form a circle around me
and you’ll bring me showers of blessing!”

I like the ending of this psalm. Such a wonderful vision of God’s people forming a circle to bring showers of blessings. I really hope your day is like that; people all around you sharing God’s grace. And, if more than likely this doesn’t happen in your day, then you be the person who surrounds someone else with God’s grace and blessing. It all begins with you and me. Peace.

Leave a Reply

