A Prayer for God’s Help Each Day

15 Mar

I think Psalm 141 should be on my list of daily prayers. In ten verses it covers everything I need to try to keep in line with God. Of course, for me, I need to repeat it every day if I hope to stay mindful of God’s guidance.

The psalm starts with calling out to God. It asks God to listen to our voice, with a affirmation that our prayer is as sweet as incense in God’s presence.

141 1-2 God, come close. Come quickly!
Open your ears—it’s my voice you’re hearing!
Treat my prayer as sweet incense rising;
my raised hands are my evening prayers.

I love verse 3. This is actually the line I should repeat every hour. “Post a guard at my mouth, God, set a watch at the door of my lips.” Apparently, the psalmist, had the same kind of issues I do with letting my mouth run away without my brain.

This section asks that evil not even be a dream and we would not fall into bad company. It is a desire to keep all of our lives before God; pleasing to God. I think sometimes we clean up our lives for God in the moment, like we clean up for Sunday morning worship. But when our devotional time is over, off we go to speak and act without God is the center. The psalmist asks that if we do that then God, the Just One, the Kind One when get us back on The Way of the Divine again.

3-7
Post a guard at my mouth, God,
set a watch at the door of my lips.
Don’t let me so much as dream of evil
or thoughtlessly fall into bad company.
And these people who only do wrong—
don’t let them lure me with their sweet talk!
May the Just One set me straight,
may the Kind One correct me,
Don’t let sin anoint my head.
I’m praying hard against their evil ways!
Oh, let their leaders be pushed off a high rock cliff;
make them face the music.
Like a rock pulverized by a maul,
let their bones be scattered at the gates of hell.

The psalmist is not being gentle about what to do with those who are causing evil. But, as always, I am just hoping God can keep me straight and I will let God decide how to deal with other folks.

The final verses announce again that the psalmist is focused on God. My prayer is that in each moment I will have the mindfulness to look for the way of God. I know, like the psalmist, as I run to God with all that I am, God is care for the details. There are so many little things in my life that call for my attention, and too often for my worry. BUT, if I focus on God, trust God, try to speak God’s word. . then all that other – little stuff – fades into the back ground. AND, the good news is I have a much more joyous, balanced day because God was at the center.

8-10
But God, dear Lord,
I only have eyes for you.
Since I’ve run for dear life to you,
take good care of me.
Protect me from their evil scheming,
from all their demonic subterfuge.
Let the wicked fall flat on their faces,
while I walk off without a scratch.

I pray you have a joy-filled day today. I pray you center your life on the Divine Path and feel the presence that has created you and loves you deeply.

Leave a Reply

