Remember to say Thank You

12 Mar

As I read this psalm I can hear my mother saying, “remember to say Thank You.” It seemed to be a constant phrase out of her mouth. She wanted to make sure that her children grew into human beings and were civilized.

Of course, she was right. More than being socially appropriate, it made us begin to understand gratitude. I find that my sense of gratitude has become linked with the feelings of a joyful and blessed life. So, this morning the psalmist says, “Thank you.”

1-3 Thank you! Everything in me says “Thank you!”
Angels listen as I sing my thanks.
I kneel in worship facing your holy temple
and say it again: “Thank you!”
Thank you for your love,
thank you for your faithfulness;
Most holy is your name,
most holy is your Word.
The moment I called out, you stepped in;
you made my life large with strength.

This song tells us all the things God gives us, for which we can be grateful. These things are freely given, without price, and renewed each day. Can you add to the list?

4-6
When they hear what you have to say, God,
all earth’s kings will say “Thank you.”
They’ll sing of what you’ve done:
“How great the glory of God!”
And here’s why: God, high above, sees far below;
no matter the distance, he knows everything about us.

I believe the grateful life embodied in this psalm enables us to journey through the most difficult times in our lives. The writer says God keeps us alive through angry turmoil. Again, it is true for me. In any situation, any struggle or sadness, even if I can only say thank you to God for standing with me in the pain of the presence moment, it helps me to make it through that moment.

7-8
When I walk into the thick of trouble,
keep me alive in the angry turmoil.
With one hand
strike my foes,
With your other hand
save me.
Finish what you started in me, God.
Your love is eternal—don’t quit on me now.

God’s eternal, ever-present love is with you today. Give thanks! Or as my mother always says, “Remember to say, Thank You.”

One Response to “Remember to say Thank You”

  1. Lois Rose March 13, 2014 at 5:50 pm #

    And thank you, Mary….always enjoy your blog lessons. Lois

Leave a Reply

