The Night Shift

7 Mar

Psalm 134 consists of 3 brief verse that encourage us to praise God all the time, even at night.

1-3 Come, bless God,
all you servants of God!
You priests of God, posted to the nightwatch
in God’s shrine,
Lift your praising hands to the Holy Place,
and bless God.
In turn, may God of Zion bless you—
God who made heaven and earth!

The psalm reminds me that we can praise God anytime, wherever we are – just lift our hands in praise. And I think in praising God we can always find the blessings of God.
Night_Sky_Stars_Trees_02
One of my favorite time of worship at Mt. Saviour Monastery was the first one of the day. It was at 4:45 am. When I would walk from my cottage near the chapel the night sky was beautiful. There was such a peaceful stillness – a wonderful time to praise God.

I pray you find an opportunity to praise God today. I pray you can look around you to see the beauty that God’s creation has given us – even if it looks like snow. I know God loves us.

One Response to “The Night Shift”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger March 7, 2014 at 3:31 pm #

    Amen!

Leave a Reply

