Our Lenten Journey

5 Mar

For many years I have looked forward to Ash Wednesday. Lent is a wonderful time to examine life, journey with God, and find an opportunity for Spiritual growth. So, this Lent, in order to focus on God, I am giving up chocolate and all sugary treats. I figure I will be thinking about God all the time. Also, I want to add to my Lenten journey blogging every day – except Sunday, of course, when I plan to be eating chocolate. [You know that Sunday is always a day of celebration which is free of the Lenten disciple; I believe I will be looking forward to Sundays every much this year.]

So, we might actually finish the psalms.

Today we are up to Psalm 132. It is a psalm of David and talks about him building a temple for the Ark of the Covenant, a home for God.

1-5 O God, remember David,
remember all his troubles!
And remember how he promised God,
made a vow to the Strong God of Jacob,
“I’m not going home,
and I’m not going to bed,
I’m not going to sleep,
not even take time to rest,
Until I find a home for God,
a house for the Strong God of Jacob.”

This psalm speaks of David’s single-mindedness of finding a resting place for God, but also a place that would be the command center of Israel. The Ark of the Covenant, which contained the ten commandment tablets, was a focal point of for the people of Israel and an incredible military resource.

6-7
Remember how we got the news in Ephrathah,
learned all about it at Jaar Meadows?
We shouted, “Let’s go to the shrine dedication!
Let’s worship at God’s own footstool!”

8-10
Up, God, enjoy your new place of quiet repose,
you and your mighty covenant ark;
Get your priests all dressed up in justice;
prompt your worshipers to sing this prayer:
“Honor your servant David;
don’t disdain your anointed one.”

The psalm says that the people of Israel saw the Temple as God’s resting place. It was a place where priests very clothing was justice and people sang praise to God. Throughout the Hebrew Scripture we hear that God’s ways are ones of justice and peace and mercy. One more time the steadfast, loving-kindness of God is displayed.

11-18
God gave David his word,
he won’t back out on this promise:
“One of your sons
I will set on your throne;
If your sons stay true to my Covenant
and learn to live the way I teach them,
Their sons will continue the line—
always a son to sit on your throne.
Yes—I, God, chose Zion,
the place I wanted for my shrine;
This will always be my home;
this is what I want, and I’m here for good.
I’ll shower blessings on the pilgrims who come here,
and give supper to those who arrive hungry;
I’ll dress my priests in salvation clothes;
the holy people will sing their hearts out!
Oh, I’ll make the place radiant for David!
I’ll fill it with light for my anointed!
I’ll dress his enemies in dirty rags,
but I’ll make his crown sparkle with splendor.”

The temple of God becomes God’s resting place; a place that will bless pilgrims and feed those who are hungry. Jesus says later that it is a place of prayer.

In 1st Corinthians, Paul writes to the Christians to say that our very selves are a temple where God’s presence resides. So, if we are on the pilgrim road to God’s temple, then in one way we are on the journey to our truest selves. For me this is a great idea to begin the Lenten season.

I truly want to honor God with my life; my words, my thoughts, my actions, my very body. – I just wonder if I can keep it from chocolate – O God, give me the strength. Peace

Leave a Reply

