Taking a Breath

27 Feb

In times when life is moving too fast, for whatever reason, I tell myself to breathe. One calming breath after another does amazing things for a moment in time. For me, it allows me to focus on God’s spirit, quiet my mind, and embrace whatever is before me.

I think Psalm 131 reflects this kind of calming of ourselves to remember that God is the one who will lead us through our lives.

God, I’m not trying to rule the roost,
I don’t want to be king of the mountain.
I haven’t meddled where I have no business
or fantasized grandiose plans.

2
I’ve kept my feet on the ground,
I’ve cultivated a quiet heart.
Like a baby content in its mother’s arms,
my soul is a baby content.

3
Wait, Israel, for God. Wait with hope.
Hope now; hope always!

Imagine if we really placed all our trust in God and let God lead the way. If we were willing to be content with our lives, like a baby in its mother’s arms. Maybe all the stress and madness of our world would ease up a little and people would take a breath – calm their mind and spirit and be open to God’s peace.

What I se in my world is people determined NOT to do just that. Recently on NBC Nightly News they have been doing a series of stories on the legalization of marijuana. One of the people interviewed is a 70 something woman who said she recently discovered the relaxing effects of pot. She says her mind could be racing with all the details of her work and life and then after she smokes a joint it’s just, whatever. So, apparently, pot is the way to slow our minds and relax. Of course, when you come out of the “smoke daze” you have no more skills to handle the stress of your life than before. But, whatever, there like, legalizing pot, right!!

Just when I think the world can’t get weirder or try more ways to avoid the peace that God brings, I find I am so wrong. But I wait with hope, hope now; hope always. I think I will chill with God for awhile. Check you later. Peace.

Leave a Reply

