Mondays are great!

10 Feb

I have always loved Mondays. They I usually been my quiet day to catch up on mindless chores and enjoy the sense of worship completed before planning begins again. It is a great time to praise God.

In Psalm 126 I am reminded of the old sayings, “You get more flies with honey”. The Psalm begins as a praise song, but by the second stanza it becomes a psalm of request. But, I figure that is the best way to go about any request; first say something nice that indicates that you have been appreciative in the past and then make the request.

1-3 It seemed like a dream, too good to be true,
when God returned Zion’s exiles.
We laughed, we sang,
we couldn’t believe our good fortune.
We were the talk of the nations—
“God was wonderful to them!”
God was wonderful to us;
we are one happy people.

4-6
And now, God, do it again—
bring rains to our drought-stricken lives
So those who planted their crops in despair
will shout hurrahs at the harvest,
So those who went off with heavy hearts
will come home laughing, with armloads of blessing.

Come to think of it, this is the way my sons always got what they wanted. It got to the point where I was always suspicious when they were being too nice or complimentary of me. I wonder if God ever feels that way??

Well, I hope you take time to praise God today. Even in the midst of the cold and snow there should be something to thank God for today. I am grateful that there is a high school student in the apartments nearby earning money by shoveling driveways and he came by last night and took the latest inch away. God is good.

I hope you find yourselves today coming “home laughing, with armloads of blessings”. Peace

Leave a Reply

