Easy as 1, 2, 3

31 Jan

We are up to Psalm 123, so I couldn’t resist the title for this post. I have also written in this blog over 160 times. It is amazing.
This morning I am sitting in the room we use most during the day with a little space heater running full blast. We have run out of heating oil and hope that more will be delivered today. Mom and Dad are snuggled under their electric blanket in bed [I hope they are behaving themselves.] But, as I sit under my blanket I am thankful for all that we have today. During these cold days I have often given thanks for all I have each day and pray for those who do not; those who do not have a warm home, those who do not have a car that works reliably, those who do not have warm coats and hats and mittens. I enjoy so many blessings and I pray I can help those who struggle on the margins of life.

This short psalm speaks elegantly of our attentiveness to God. Probably you have not been a servant, but the idea of complete focus on another, awaiting their instruction is a powerful one. I took my Dad to see “12 Years a Slave”. It is a powerful and difficult to watch, mostly because it is all true and, most painfully, there are still those who are in similar circumstances today. I think of those slaves watching “the masters” for every nuance of emotion trying to avoid wrath and get safely through one more day.

1-4 I look to you, heaven-dwelling God,
look up to you for help.
Like servants, alert to their master’s commands,
like a maiden attending her lady,
We’re watching and waiting, holding our breath,
awaiting your word of mercy.
Mercy, God, mercy!
We’ve been kicked around long enough,
Kicked in the teeth by complacent rich men,
kicked when we’re down by arrogant brutes.

So, we all await God’s mercy. Also I pray we can be a living example of God’s mercy in this world, keeping watchful for God’s commands.

One Response to “Easy as 1, 2, 3”

  1. bleakhouse2012 February 16, 2014 at 8:57 pm #

    This makes me think of a poem I just read: “Devotion” by Robert Frost.
    The heart can think of no devotion
    Greater than being shore to the ocean –
    Holding the curve of one position,
    Counting an endless repetition.

Leave a Reply

