Life in our World

28 Jan

This is another psalm of lament. It starts out with the standard calling to God for help, but what strikes me about this song of pain is the writers distress that people always seem to be at war.

120 1-2 I’m in trouble. I cry to God,
desperate for an answer:
“Deliver me from the liars, God!
They smile so sweetly but lie through their teeth.”

God is asked for deliverance and the wrongdoers are promised punishment.

3-4
Do you know what’s next, can you see what’s coming,
all you barefaced liars?
Pointed arrows and burning coals
will be your reward.

Sometimes I feel like the writer, “My whole life lived camping among quarreling neighbors.” This is not the experience of local neighbors, but of international ones. There never seems to be an end to people fighting for power and wealth. And those who live on the margins of life just wanting food, shelter and security. It is amazing the reasons we find to kill and destroy one another. I find myself, with the psalmist, wanting peace and finding war.

5-7
I’m doomed to live in Meshech,
cursed with a home in Kedar,
My whole life lived camping
among quarreling neighbors.
I’m all for peace, but the minute
I tell them so, they go to war!

Join me in praying for peace for our world today and protection for those who suffer most because of war.

One Response to “Life in our World”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger January 28, 2014 at 1:37 pm #

    Dear Mary,

    I will join you to pray for peace today.

    Stay warm,
    Phyllis

Leave a Reply

