God has heard you

13 Jan

Psalm 116 gives us that sense of relationship with a God who loves us, hears us, and saves us.

My church gave me a wonderful Christmas gift. They had collected a “purse” and the organist wrote me a beautiful poem. I tell you this because three times in the poem it says that I listened to the people of the church. It is a dear poem, but it is interesting that it is noteworthy that a pastor would listen to those who are trying to care for their church.

In Psalm 116 the psalmist is also praise God, because God has heard their cry.

1-6 I love God because he listened to me,
listened as I begged for mercy.
He listened so intently
as I laid out my case before him.
Death stared me in the face,
hell was hard on my heels.
Up against it, I didn’t know which way to turn;
then I called out to God for help:
“Please, God!” I cried out.
“Save my life!”
God is gracious—it is he who makes things right,
our most compassionate God.
God takes the side of the helpless;
when I was at the end of my rope, he saved me.

Once the psalmist has called on God, they can relax. God is there to care for each detail.

7-8 I said to myself, “Relax and rest.
God has showered you with blessings.
Soul, you’ve been rescued from death;
Eye, you’ve been rescued from tears;
And you, Foot, were kept from stumbling.”

I enjoy the word pictures in these verse. “Eyes rescued from tears, and foot kept from stumbling.” But also, “I’m striding in the presence of God, alive in the land of the living.” Imagine this is you – striding in the presence of God. It is a great way to live.

9-11 I’m striding in the presence of God,
alive in the land of the living!
I stayed faithful, though bedeviled,
and despite a ton of bad luck,
Despite giving up on the human race,
saying, “They’re all liars and cheats.”

The psalmist says we don’t live according to who the rest of the world is, but according to the power of God. And, as always, our response to the power of God in our lives is to PRAISE God. We praise God and work to complete the work God has given us. I believe it is a wonderful way to spend our days. I hope you enjoy this one that God has given you.

12-19 What can I give back to God
for the blessings he’s poured out on me?
I’ll lift high the cup of salvation—a toast to God!
I’ll pray in the name of God;
I’ll complete what I promised God I’d do,
and I’ll do it together with his people.
When they arrive at the gates of death,
God welcomes those who love him.
Oh, God, here I am, your servant,
your faithful servant: set me free for your service!
I’m ready to offer the thanksgiving sacrifice
and pray in the name of God.
I’ll complete what I promised God I’d do,
and I’ll do it in company with his people,
In the place of worship, in God’s house,
in Jerusalem, God’s city.
Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

