Godly Leadership

3 Jan

IMG_3970Psalm 110 is an affirmation of Divine leadership. Since it was written thousands of years ago is a culture of tribal war the language is harsh and militaristic. Yet, the central idea is that God will bless and lead the King of the people of God.

1-3 The word of God to my Lord:
“Sit alongside me here on my throne
until I make your enemies a stool for your feet.”
You were forged a strong scepter by God of Zion;
now rule, though surrounded by enemies!
Your people will freely join you, resplendent in holy armor
on the great day of your conquest,
Join you at the fresh break of day,
join you with all the vigor of youth.

The leader of God’s people will have willing followers and enemies will be destroyed. There is an energy about the psalm. A hope of vitality that God will bring to the people fighting to bring God’s rule.

God gave his word and he won’t take it back:
you’re the permanent priest, the Melchizedek priest.
The Lord stands true at your side,
crushing kings in his terrible wrath,
Bringing judgment on the nations,
handing out convictions wholesale,
crushing opposition across the wide earth.
The King-Maker put his King on the throne;
the True King rules with head held high!

In the world of God’s King, he is also a priest. The priestly order of Melchizedek is one that is used a number of times in scripture. The Melchizedek priest is one who is particularly sacred to God. It is this priest who will lead the people as King.

I am not a fan of military domination as a way of life. But, I am not a person who has lived in a time or place where land and resources had to be fought for on a daily basis. If I think of this psalm for me, I know that I want the leaders of our world to be God led and Divinely inspired. And I know that it is my responsibility to pray for them.

I pray you find blessings in this day and ask your prayers for those who led us.

One Response to “Godly Leadership”

  1. Phyllis Terwilliger January 3, 2014 at 11:41 pm #

    Mary,

    I’ve got one more chapter on a fascinating read entitled, “American Gospel”. It was my advent book although it really had nothing to do with Advent. Your photo brought the book to mind. Thanks for your forbearance with the psalms.

    Phyllis

Leave a Reply

