Happy 2014

1 Jan

Hello Friends,

It has been awhile since I have shared thoughts and the Psalms with you. I am going to wait one more day to talk about Psalm 109 – it is long and not the happiest of psalms.

I always love new year’s day. It is a full of hope, like the opening day of baseball season – anything is possible. I could actually lose weight this year! I could blog everyday! I could keep my morning meditation routine everyday! The possibilities are endless – as endless as God’s grace. That is what makes me happiest in this new year. God is here and God’s possibilities and grace are endless. I wonder if we could hold fast to that belief each day we could find the joy and challenge God has waiting for us in each moment?

Thank you for reading my blog. The hope of the new year is in God’s power to transform our lives into living witnesses of God’s presence in our world.

So, here’s my story.

The last time I blogged I was a little discouraged. Sometimes I feel like I am hanging out on a limb, not knowing how life is going to turn out – or if I am making the right choices.
So, on November 15th, after I blogged in the morning I went to get a prescription for my mom. I had to pick it up at the doctor and drop it by the pharmacy and wait for it to be filled. We use a pharmacy that is in the grocery store closest to our house. Usually I shop around, but instead I went to MacDonald’s for a hot chocolate and listen to a book in my car. When 20 minutes had passed I cleaned up my MacDonald’s debris and threw the bag in the trash can outside the grocery store. I went inside to pick up the few items we need before picking up the prescription. I was in the dairy aisle when a tall black man walked up to me and said, “did you just come in the store?? did you throw a MacDonald’s bag in the trash outside??”
I was completely weirded out by these questions, but answered yes to both of them. Then he said, God told him to tell me, “Everything is going to be OK”. The man keep on apologizing for talking to me this way and when I told him I was a pastor, he was VERY relieved. He said he had never done anything like this, but when he passed me by the trash can outside he sensed “my spirit” and felt God giving a message to me through him. Since he thought this was a strange request of God he got in his car and was driving away as he had planned, but then turned around, got out of the car and came to find me. He said it was difficult to find me because, “you’re kinda short”.
He said he had been praying to God about a lot of needs in his life and felt God was saying to him, if he wanted those cared for, then he needed to do something for God. We really had a lovely conversation in the dairy aisle of the grocery store.
I felt and continued to feel so blessed by this encounter. Nothing like it has ever happened in my life before. I continually trust God that life will be OK and God will be with me through all the changes in my life, but it was really nice to hear it spoken out loud by a nice, faithfilled man in the diary aisle.

I pray you can sense God’s blessings in your life. I pray that you know how dearly you are loved by your creator and how much you can do for God’s world through your willingness to be faithful followers of the way.

3 Responses to “Happy 2014”

  1. Sue Shields January 1, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

    thanks Mary – good to “read” your thoughts. As I went through so many life changes the last couple of years, holding on to the peace I felt with God became the base of my Spirit and my life. Looking back now, with life in such a different, wonderful place, I wonder why I was so concerned about “change.” It became an opportunity to learn to trust in a deeper sense. I am grateful for that. Peace to you.

  2. Jennifer (Maillet) Rosato January 1, 2014 at 4:43 pm #

    Mary,

    I have missed you and your ministry. I look forward to reading more of your blog.

    Fly with Christ,

    Jen

  3. Becky Jarrett January 2, 2014 at 12:57 am #

    HI Mary… so nice to see you here. I’ve missed your positive messages about God and how he can work in my life. So glad I found you on FB today ~~ a message from God to me!! I think so. Looking forward to hearing and reading more. Thanks & God Bless, B ecky

Leave a Reply

