Put it in your head and your heart

10 Sep

This Sunday we began Sunday School at my little church. In former appointments the Sunday School attendance, especially on Rally Day was well over 100. This year there were 7 of us. It is a little bit strange, but the basic are still the same. Get together, talk about God, put God into your head and into your heart. So, for my new little Sunday School – actually we call it SMILE: Sunday Morning Intergenerational Learning Experience – we have a memory verse each week. This week it is the Great Shama: “Hear O Israel; The Lord is our God, the Lord alone. You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your might.” Deuteronomy 6:4-5.

Our psalm of the day, #100 has been in my head and in my heart for a all time. In my early twenties I went to a Christian gathering called TAG that meet in Washington D.C.. We learned scripture songs and Psalm 100 is one of the ones that I learned. It is a simple tune and some people have even endured my singing it to them. It is a wonderful way to carry around the encouragement and praise of God all day.

As I read paraphrase of The Message, I am thinking that I learned the song in the King James Version – Yikes!! As always, I love the way Eugene Peterson put this wonderful praise psalm into words, especially the laughter part.

1-2 On your feet now—applaud God!
Bring a gift of laughter,
sing yourselves into his presence.

3 Know this: God is God, and God, God.
He made us; we didn’t make him.
We’re his people, his well-tended sheep.

4 Enter with the password: “Thank you!”
Make yourselves at home, talking praise.
Thank him. Worship him.

5 For God is sheer beauty,
all-generous in love,
loyal always and ever.

I would encourage you to memorize this psalm, or other scripture that is meaningful to you. Just think of all the stuff you put into your head each day. I know a lot of it sinks into our heart too, so here is something good to put into our lives. Think of it as eating your vegetables – it does a body good. Peace

Leave a Reply

