One of my favorite psalms

6 Jul

Psalm 91 is one of my favorites.  Every evening at Mount Saviour Monastery the monks sing this in there final service of the night.  It is a wonderful way to go off to bed.  The first time I heard about this psalm was at a Christian gathering in 1977.  It was described as an Insurance Policy for the faithful.  I don’t remember ever reading in The Message, but I like it.

1-13 You who sit down in the High God’s presence,
    spend the night in Shaddai’s shadow,
Say this: “God, you’re my refuge.
    I trust in you and I’m safe!”
That’s right—he rescues you from hidden traps,
    shields you from deadly hazards.
His huge outstretched arms protect you—
    under them you’re perfectly safe;

I love the imaginary of these verses, of course, taking it literally is a problem.  I think in the presence of the Divine there is a sense of wholeness and holiness that makes me feel secure.  It is not that nothing can harm me, it is that there is nothing in this life that God and I cannot handle together.  The apostle Paul wrote, “nothing can separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord” in the 8th chapter of Romans.  I think it is the same kind of feeling.

“If you’ll hold on to me for dear life,” says God,
    “I’ll get you out of any trouble.
I’ll give you the best of care
    if you’ll only get to know and trust me.
Call me and I’ll answer, be at your side in bad times;
    I’ll rescue you, then throw you a party.
I’ll give you a long life,
    give you a long drink of salvation!”

What I like most is the instruction to trust God with our whole lives.  It makes sense; if God created us, gave us a planet to sustain us, and a redeemer to give us a way to live a whole/holy life, then why wouldn’t we trust God with every part of our lives.

Rest well in the presence of the Divine.
   

Leave a Reply

