So, Now Christ has risen, Risen indeed

31 Mar

This phrase has been running through my head all day.  I pray you have had a wonderful Easter celebration with awesome worship, loving friends and family, and lots of chocolate.

And now we get to look at Psalm 75 which is much more Easterish than Psalm 74

We thank you, God, we thank you—
your Name is our favorite word;
your mighty works are all we talk about.

As I sit and think about this psalm and the writer saying, “your mighty works are all we talk about”, I am also watching one of the basketeball games of March Madness.  What if we talked about the stories of God as much as we talked about the games of this basketball series?  What if we made out or brackets to say where God was defeating evil around the world?  What if we made a lot of noise about the power of our God; particularly on this day of celebration of God’s triumph over death?

OK, before I start sounding totally pious, let’s talk about how God sets things right.  I like Eugene Peterson’s paraphrase in this section.  It is God who sets our world right when everything gets wacky.  Of course, we have to be willing to humble ourselves to see the world through God’s eyes.

2-4 You say, “I’m calling this meeting to order,
I’m ready to set things right.
When the earth goes topsy-turvy
And nobody knows which end is up,
I nail it all down,
I put everything in place again.
I say to the smart alecks, ‘That’s enough,’
to the bullies, ‘Not so fast.’”

5-6 Don’t raise your fist against High God.
Don’t raise your voice against Rock of Ages.
He’s the One from east to west;
from desert to mountains, he’s the One.

7-8 God rules: he brings this one down to his knees,
pulls that one up on her feet.
God has a cup in his hand,
a bowl of wine, full to the brim.
He draws from it and pours;
it’s drained to the dregs.
Earth’s wicked ones drink it all,
drink it down to the last bitter drop!

I hope you have the joy of telling the story of God Eternal.  It is a great way to spend your life.  But, as Francis of Assisi was known to say, Preach the Good News at all times, and when necessary use words.  I believe the world is waiting to be convinced that the resurrection of Jesus makes a difference in our lives today.  I pray that you will become a poster child for new life in Christ.

9-10 And I’m telling the story of God Eternal,
singing the praises of Jacob’s God.
The fists of the wicked
are bloody stumps,
The arms of the righteous
are lofty green branches.

Leave a Reply

