Preparing for Lent

12 Feb

Tomorrow begins the Lenten season with Ash Wednesday services.  I can’t help, I am excited about tomorrow services and the opportunity to draw closer to God through 40 days of discipline.  What can I say, I have always been a Jesus freak.  

In any case, Psalm 63 is an excellent song to mediate on as we consider the ways that God is calling you to grow in this year of Lenten disciplines.

A David Psalm, When He Was out in the Judean Wilderness

63 God—you’re my God!
I can’t get enough of you!
I’ve worked up such hunger and thirst for God,
traveling across dry and weary deserts.

2-4 So here I am in the place of worship, eyes open,
drinking in your strength and glory.
In your generous love I am really living at last!
My lips brim praises like fountains.
I bless you every time I take a breath;
My arms wave like banners of praise to you.

I think this is the best way to approach what we will surrender to God during these 40 days.  It is from this relationship of love and passion, where we want to praise and bless God with everything that we have, that God can led us into a wonderful Lenten experience.  So, it is not an experience of pain or sacrifice, but one that can bring us close to the beauty of God’s grace.  So, like David’s psalm, we end up feeling we have enjoyed a wonderful meal.

5-8 I eat my fill of prime rib and gravy;
I smack my lips. It’s time to shout praises!
If I’m sleepless at midnight,
I spend the hours in grateful reflection.
Because you’ve always stood up for me,
I’m free to run and play.
I hold on to you for dear life,
and you hold me steady as a post.

I think the best thing about this Lenten opportunity is that it gives us 40 days of a trial to consider the heart of God.  AND, we get Sundays off because we are, after all, human.  Holding on to God for dear life is a wonderful feeling, but, I find it is a difficult thing to do every day.  I guess it is one of the paradoxes of our faith life.  We are at our best and most human when we are emmersed in God’s presence, yet it is difficult for us to do (or at least me).

9-11 Those who are out to get me are marked for doom,
marked for death, bound for hell.
They’ll die violent deaths;
jackals will tear them limb from limb.
But the king is glad in God;
his true friends spread the joy,
While small-minded gossips
are gagged for good.

David ends his psalm with a ‘shout out’ to his enemies.  Oh well, one in his position of power probably had a lot of people out to get him.

For me, not so much.  So I am focused on a blessed Lent.  I am glad for the time to have some God and me focused time.  I pray you will plan for a holy and blessed Lent.

Leave a Reply

