A comfort psalm

7 Feb

Dear Friends,

In the midst of snow and cold and long winter days it is lovely to have a psalm of comfort.  Psalm 62 is a song of assurance; telling us when we call out to God, we are heard.  It is a comforting reminder that anytime we call out to God, God is there.

1-2 God, listen to me shout,
bend an ear to my prayer.
When I’m far from anywhere,
down to my last gasp,
I call out, “Guide me
up High Rock Mountain!”

I like these next verses becomes it reminds me of my favorite monastery.  I know that God is ready to bring us comfort anywhere at anytime, but for me, the monastery is a special place to find the breathing room.  I wonder if there is a special place where you feel particularly safe and relaxed and loved by God?  It is a true gift to be around those love God and will tolerate us.

3-5 You’ve always given me breathing room,
a place to get away from it all,
A lifetime pass to your safe-house,
an open invitation as your guest.
You’ve always taken me seriously, God,
made me welcome among those who know and love you.

I also like in this psalm the understanding that it is more likely that we can find a place of peace with God, if those who rule our lives are righteous people.  Perhaps we can pray that God give us leaders who set their “thrones” in the full light of God, and set up post of “Steady Love and Good Faith” as watchers over the people.

6-8 Let the days of the king add up
to years and years of good rule.
Set his throne in the full light of God;
post Steady Love and Good Faith as lookouts,
And I’ll be the poet who sings your glory—
and live what I sing every day.

So, are up for it!  Up for singing to God’s glory.  After finding the power of God’s peace in that quiet place of comfort we can use that strength to sing glory to God.  It is a great way to live.  Yea! God!

Leave a Reply

