Psalms and Hymns

22 Jan

As I read over Psalm 57, a song from my Youth Choir days came into head.

Days of my youth were difficult at times and I remember the idea of running to God to be hidden under God’s wing.  The writer of this psalm tells of this same desire to escape the pain of life.  It is God we can run to, it is God we can trust.  This psalm is just eleven verses, so enjoy.

1-3 Be good to me, God—and now!
I’ve run to you for dear life.
I’m hiding out under your wings
until the hurricane blows over.
I call out to High God,
the God who holds me together.
He sends orders from heaven and saves me,
he humiliates those who kick me around.
God delivers generous love,
he makes good on his word.

I find myself in a pride of lions
who are wild for a taste of human flesh;
Their teeth are lances and arrows,
their tongues are sharp daggers.

Soar high in the skies, O God!
Cover the whole earth with your glory!

They booby-trapped my path;
I thought I was dead and done for.
They dug a mantrap to catch me,
and fell in headlong themselves.

7-8 I’m ready, God, so ready,
ready from head to toe,
Ready to sing, ready to raise a tune:
“Wake up, soul!
Wake up, harp! wake up, lute!
Wake up, you sleepyhead sun!”

9-10 I’m thanking you, God, out loud in the streets,
singing your praises in town and country.
The deeper your love, the higher it goes;
every cloud is a flag to your faithfulness.

11 Soar high in the skies, O God!
Cover the whole earth with your glory!

Did you like the line about having a mantrap dug to catch the writer?  I wonder if it is different than a womantrap?

I want to include the song I remember from my Youth Choir days.  It is actually in the United Methodist Hymnal and was written by Charles Wesley (you can’t get more Methodist than that.)

 

Jesus, lover of my soul,
let me to thy bosom fly,
while the nearer waters roll,
while the tempest still is high.
Hide me, O my Savior, hide,
till the storm of life is past;
safe into the haven guide;
O receive my soul at last.

2.
Other refuge have I none,
hangs my helpless soul on thee;
leave, ah! leave me not alone,
still support and comfort me.
All my trust on thee is stayed,
all my help from thee I bring;
cover my defenseless head
with the shadow of thy wing.

There are two more verses to this hymn, but these are the two verses that still stick in my head.  Like I said, those teen years were tough and it helped me to know that God was always there to hold me up.  I think during those hard years that I leaned so heavily on God that when life was hard in subsequent years it didn’t seem so bad.

God is always that ready to hold you and hide you in God’s wings.  I think also knowing that I am deeply loved by God is the truth that holds me up each day.

Leave a Reply

