God is on your side

4 Jan

Well, just a few days in to the new year, and I missed a day.  Yesterday was a long one.  I am having a great time being in ministry again.  The church I am serving is has been though some hard times.  I think of them as I read the psalm of the day – Psalm 54.

The writer beings with appeal to God for help.  I know a lot of my days have started this way.  We all have a need for God to help out of messes that confound out lives.

1-2 God, for your sake, help me!
Use your influence to clear me.
Listen, God—I’m desperate.
Don’t be too busy to hear me.

The writer is having trouble with a killer.  This has never been my problem.  However, I have had people carry mean stories about me, or be angry with a decision I made, or just have people who make it unpleasant to be around.

Outlaws are out to get me,
hit men are trying to kill me.
Nothing will stop them;
God means nothing to them.

The writer affirms that even we feel life is out to get us, God is right there ready to help.  God will give us the path to walk through the difficult times, away from those who could hurt us, and towards a God-filled future.

4-5 Oh, look! God’s right here helping!

    God’s on my side,
Evil is looping back on my enemies.
Don’t let up! Finish them off!

Our response to God guiding is worship.  Our response to the gift of each new day is worship.  Our response to being human and knowing our creator is worship.  We are creature given breath, so we can sing to God.

6-7 I’m ready now to worship, so ready.
I thank you, God—you’re so good.
You got me out of every scrape,
and I saw my enemies get it.

I pray you enjoy the gift of this day.  I pray you can find a way to worship God and sing aloud some good praise.  As I said in church on Sunday, “Give God a shout out!”

Leave a Reply

