12-12-12 a good day to blog

12 Dec

The psalm for the day is a praise song, and therefore, easier to wrap my mind around.   Psalm 46 uses this refrain three times:

“Jacob-wrestling God fights for us,
God-of-Angel-Armies protects us.”

I think what Eugene Peterson is paraphrasing in this refrain is the personal and protective relationship with have with God.  The story of Jacob wresting with God and/or an angel of God give Israel their name; their identity.  We are a part of the people who wrestle with their relationship with God.  It is this God, who knows us intimately who fights for us, even as we wrestle with God.  It is this cosmic God who also protects our lives.

The first stanza of the praise song says that God is a safe place to dwell.  God will protect us from any danger.

“God is a safe place to hide,
ready to help when we need him.
We stand fearless at the cliff-edge of doom,
courageous in seastorm and earthquake,
Before the rush and roar of oceans,
the tremors that shift mountains.”

What do you think God protects you from?  How would you phrase the safety you feel in your relationship with God.  I know one of the ways I think about my safety in God is this:  I believe that I been given a life in Christ that will never end and since I have trusted God in this life, I don’t worry about what my life will be after my death.  So, I am not worried about death, there is nothing else to fear – God is with me through it all.

The second stanza is one of praise of God’s dwelling place.  Again, the emphasis is that we are protected by God.

 “River fountains splash joy, cooling God’s city,
this sacred haunt of the Most High.
God lives here, the streets are safe,
God at your service from crack of dawn.
Godless nations rant and rave, kings and kingdoms threaten,
but Earth does anything he says.”

So, when you think of God’s dwelling place, what do you imagine?  I believe God dwells in each moment of our lives – past, present and future.  For me, God is not on a mountain far away, or only at the dawn of creation, but here and giving us God’s presence and offering wisdom.

The last stanza continues to praise God and gives a beautiful picture of what the realm of God could look like.

“Attention, all! See the marvels of God!
He plants flowers and trees all over the earth,
Bans war from pole to pole,
breaks all the weapons across his knee.
“Step out of the traffic! Take a long,
loving look at me, your High God,
above politics, above everything.”

I love the idea of banning war from pole to pole and God breaking all weapons across his knee.  In this season when we celebrate the Prince of Peace, it is a create idea to meditate on.

I hope you enjoy this song as praise as I do.   Peace.

Leave a Reply

